The G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture

The G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture Series was established to honor the contributions of scholarship, instruction and service by Dr. G.V. Loganathan in the area of water resources engineering and in memory of Dr. Loganathan and his students of the Advanced Hydrology class, 2007.

G.V. Loganathan was an internationally renowned researcher in the field of engineering hydrology and water resources systems.  G.V. joined the Virginia Tech faculty in 1982 after completing his Ph.D. degree from the School of Civil Engineering at Purdue University. G.V. wrote more than 150 peer-reviewed academic publications on a variety of topics including urban stormwater hydrology, drought modeling and low-flow analysis, optimization and decision analysis and drinking-water infrastructure. He received the ASCE Wesley W. Horner Best Paper Award in 1996.  He was named the Outstanding Civil Engineer of the Year by the Virginia Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers in 2007. G.V. was the five-time recipient of the CEE Faculty Achievement Award; an annual award determined by the CEE student body.

The. G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture – May 3, 2019
190 Goodwin Hall – Quillen Auditorium

Presented by:
Dr. Michael C. Kavanaugh
Senior Principal of Geosyntec Consultants, Inc.

Past Lectures:
2012 – Kalanith Vairavamoorthy, University of South Florida
2013 – Lindell Ormsbee, University of Kentucky
2014 – Larry W. Mays, Arizona State University
2015 – Vijay P. Singh, Texas A&M University
2016 – Rafael L. Bras, Georgia Institute of Technology
2017 – David R. Maidment, University of Texas at Austin

Randall Lecture

The Clifford W. Randall Lecture Series has been established to honor the long and dedicated career of service of Dr. Randall to the Environmental and Water Resources Engineering Program in the Via Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering – Virginia Tech and to the environmental engineering profession overall.

Randall Lecture – November 15, 2019

Past Lectures:
2010 – James Barnard, Black & Veatch
2011 – John Young, Alabama
2012 – Jerry Schnoor, University of Iowa
2013 – David Sedlak, University of California-Berkeley
2014 – Bruce Logan, Penn State University
2015 – Lut Raskin, University of Michigan
2016 – Joan Rose, Michigan State
2017 – David Dzombak, Carnegie Mellon
2018 – Herbert Fang, Hong Kong University

Schnabel Lecture – November 6, 2018

How Engineers Help Put My Kids Through College
Brian J. Vella
Smith, Pachter, McWhorter, P.L.C.

Vecellio Lecture – November 1, 2019
Ross Myers