The G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture

Join us for The G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture, presented by Dr. Vijay P. Singh on Friday, April 10, 2015 at 4:00 p.m. in The Banquet Room at Owens Hall.

Dr. Vijay Singh is a University Distinguished Professor and is the inaugural holder of the Caroline & William N. Lehrer Distinguished Chair in Water Engineering at Texas A&M University. He obtained a Ph.D. in Civil Engineering from Colorado State University, and a D.Sc. in Water Resources Engineering from the University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg. He has published 24
authored books, 55 edited books, 80 book chapters, 780 journal articles, 305 conference proceedings papers, and 80 technical reports in hydrology, hydraulics, and water resources. He is Editor-in-Chief of Water Science and Technology Library Book Series, and Editor-in-Chief of Journal of Groundwater Research. He served as Editor-in-Chief of ASCE Journal of Hydrologic Engineering and Editor-in-Chief of Water Science and Engineering. He is a member of 14 journal editorial boards dealing with water resources and environment. Dr. Singh served as President of the American Institute of Hydrology (AIH), and serves as President of G.B.S. Board, and President of the Foundation for Aggrandizement of Rural Areas (FARA); and has served on numerous committees of professional organizations and panels at national and international levels. Another area that Dr. Singh has been making a mark is public service and education. About 21 years ago he established a
school (which is a high school and an industrial training center) for imparting quality education, virtually free of cost, in his native village near Agra, India. He has been funding the school entirely through his own funds. For his scientific contributions, he has received more than 70 local, state, national and international awards, including the Chow Award, Arid Lands Hydraulic Engineering Award, Torrens Award, Lifetime Achievement and Normal Medal, all given by ASCE; the Linsley Award and Founders’ Award given by AIH; and three honorary doctorates. He is a fellow of ASCE, EWRI, AWRA, IE, IAH, ISAE, and IWRS. He has also been elected Academician by the Georgia Fazisi Academy, Republic of Georgia. He holds membership in 15 professional associations and 10 international academies. His research interests include: water engineering and stochastic modeling.

The G.V. Loganathan Distinguished Lecture Series was established to honor the contributions of scholarship, instruction and service by Dr. G.V. Loganathan in the area of water resources engineering and in memory of Dr. Loganathan and his students of the Advanced Hydrology class, 2007. G.V. Loganathan was an internationally renowned researcher in the field of engineering hydrology and water resources systems. G.V. joined the Virginia Tech faculty in 1982 after completing his Ph.D. degree from the School of Civil Engineering at Purdue University. G.V. wrote more than 150 peer-reviewed academic publications on a variety of topics including urban stormwater hydrology, drought modeling and low-flow analysis, optimization and decision analysis and drinking-water infrastructure. He received the ASCE Wesley W. Horner Best Paper Award in 1996. He was named the Outstanding Civil Engineer of the Year by the Virginia Section of the American Society of Civil Engineers in 2007. G.V. was the five-time recipient of the CEE Faculty Achievement Award; an annual award determined by the CEE student body. He was dedicated to his students; both undergraduate and graduate students. G.V directed 42 graduate students including 8 Ph.D. dissertations. The G.V. Loganathan Memorial Fellowship was established in loving memory and in his honor for graduate students working in G.V.’s area of research. Other scholarships in honor of students of the 2007 Advanced Hydrology class are the Brian Roy Bluhm Memorial Graduate Fellowship for VT BSCE graduates in water resources engineering, the Matthew Gwaltney Memorial Graduate Fellowship for graduate studies in water resources engineering, and the Jeremy Herbstritt Memorial Internship established through the Edna Bailey Sussman Foundation.