Cristopher Moen will receive the MAJR Medal

Cristopher D. Moen, Associate Professor in Structural Engineering and Materials will be awarded the Maguire Award for Junior Researchers (MAJR) Medal for 2017 by the Structural Stability Research Council (SSRC).

The award recognizes the research activity of the candidate in a period not exceeding nine years after obtaining his/her Ph.D. degree. Moen’s primary research interests are in lifecycle reliability and engineering for endurance applied to building structural systems and transportation infrastructure. He received his B.S. and M.S. from the University of Virginia and his Ph.D. from Johns Hopkins University. He is also the president and CEO of NBM Technologies, Inc. headquartered in Blacksburg.

The MAJR award was established in honor of the late William “Bill” McGuire, a long-term member of SSRC who always emphasized that state-of-the-art research is instrumental to improve the quality of stability design.

Moen will receive the bronze medal and deliver a presentation on his recent research activity at the 2017 SSRC Annual Stability Conference in San Antonio, Texas in March 2017.